• Commissioners

About the Commission

The California Children and Families First Act of 1998 provided for the creation of a county Commission charged with promoting, supporting and improving the early development of children from the prenatal stage through five years of age. The Commission, now called First 5 Sonoma County Commission, was established by the Sonoma County Board of Supervisors in December 1998.

The Commission is comprised of three ex-officio members and six representatives from the following seven categories:

  • Recipients of the project services included in the county strategic plan
  • Educators specializing in early childhood development
  • Representatives of a local childhood care resource or referral agency or a local childhood care coordinating group
  • Representatives of a local organization for prevention or early intervention for families at risk
  • Representatives of community-based organizations that have the goal of promoting nurturing and early childhood development
  • Representatives of local school districts
  • Representatives of local medical, pediatric, or obstetric associations or societies


The First 5 Sonoma County Commission is seeking to fill two Commissioner seats.

  • Seeking one Commissioner to represent educators specializing in early child development, and who represent the diverse cultural, social, and economic strengths and needs of our community.  This is an unscheduled vacancy that would start in August and serve the remainder of the term (through 11-30-18).
  • Seeking one Commissioner to represent local organizations focused on prevention ad/or early intervention for families at risk.  The term for this opening is 12-1-17 through 11-30-20.

Potential applicants are cordially invited to observe a First 5 Commission meeting. The next meetings will be held on June 26, 2017:

490 Mendocino Avenue, Suite 204    
Santa Rosa, CA
3:30 – 5:30 p.m.

Applications must be received by July 17, 2017

If you are experiencing any trouble opening these documents, please call (707) 565-6686 and we will email copies to you.

Current Commissioners

  1. Supervisor Shirlee Zane, Board of Supervisors, Ex-Officio member
  2. Barbie Robinson, Director, Ex-Officio member, Sonoma County Department of Health Services
  3. Karen Fies, Director, Ex-Officio member, Sonoma County Human Services Department
  4. Kelly Bass Seibel, Vice President of Public Policy for the Santa Rosa Chamber of Commerce
  5. Dr. Jeff Miller, Pediatrician
  6. Cynthia Murray, President/ CEO of North Bay Leadership Council (NBLC)
  7. Chiara Bacigalupa, Associate Professor of Education, Sonoma State University
  8. Juan Hernandez III, Executive Director, La Luz Center
  9. Socorro Shiels, Director of Education, California Collaborative for Educational Excellence


Some content on this page is saved in alternate format. To view these files, download the following software.

Windows Media Player   Windows Media® Player for Windows, Flip4MAC for MAC OSX
Compressed ZIP Archive   WinZip® for downloading compressed files
Return to top of page
Return to top of page